Melanoma, Perspectives

Eclipse


It is hidden, and it is beautiful. It is like a veil that conceals but it is a phenomenon worth watching. Over time we have come to understand how and what it is. Does this knowledge subtract from its beauty when we know the truth of what actually happens? I feel that it adds a dimension of appreciation that is not easy to explain.  My team and I visited a scientist lab that transported me to new dimension a place that is foreign, different and exciting.

We walked through the halls like a maze to a room. Sometimes it feels like I’m in a spaceship walking through the different passages. What I saw was new and strange. Where were the rules? Cancer has no boundaries. Ok let me stretch my mind around what I am seeing. Can I see what I am not seeing?  Cancer is constantly redefining the boundaries of those past ideas that attempt to limit it.

It was my first glimpse at a 3 dimensional live reconstruction of a tumor growing in a petri dish. We had grown accustomed to seeing cancer through a microscope after it had been sectioned and placed on a glass slide. This process was not 2 dimensional at all. I pushed the 3D glasses closer to my eyes as I tried to understand what it was I was looking at. Marveling at what I guess I knew all along but had not seen it to believe.

This makes sense, of course it behaves this way, how else could it have behaved? It moves, it is not static, it is alive, and it evolves. It is intelligent. Even the scientist trying to explain it was searching for how to explain its unique nature.  I left the lab thinking to myself that the world is now round it is no longer flat. Was I now convinced that I should change how I think about this process?

I do not know how to share the beauty of a process that is too fascinating to ignore, its power lies in that which we cannot see.  It is unfortunate because it involves us, humans, and makes us suffer. I look back at my clinic today and all those affected by cancer who have to face it with courage. It is in the hidden complexity, the eclipse that takes our breath away, when what is not seen is revealed. Just like the moon that shields the rays upon the sun allowing us brief moments to contemplate what an amazing natural process this truly is.

Mo

Standard

2 thoughts on “Eclipse

  1. Claire Barnhouse says:

    Mo,
    Wendee is so right on.. Beautiful……I am so lucky to have someone like you fighting to find a cure for me and everyone fighting cancer… Thank you again to my amazing doctor of science…
    Claire

Leave a Reply

