Patient Care, Perspectives

Defeated.


Defeated. She sat there, her swollen abdomen so uncomfortable. The news of her heart function excluding her from the clinical trial I had planned on enrolling her in like a trigger to an explosion brought a flood of tears. I pull up a chair and hunker down for my discussion. It is just that, hunkering down. Unafraid to state the truth that things were not going well. I have found myself lately quoting Voltaire quite a bit, “the art of medicine is to amuse the patient and let nature cure the disease.” She was clearly not amused, and nature was not going to cure the disease. Rather, nature was the disease.

My hands grappling with the tissues to absorb the tears. A conversation begins my words weaving a fabric of understanding. We talk about getting her comfortable, removing the fluid, helping the heart a little bit with a medication, and starting our treatments. It was Interesting to see her tears drying up. And she looks at me and says “you are making this up as you go along”…..I smile. Insightful she reads my mind, yes most of the time that is what I do. I am presented with a difficult scenario and as I think out loud, I find the answer. Words buy my brain some time to think, the humor facilitating the delivery of the plan I have to give. The laughs allowing the pauses to deliberate an action that I myself might not have been aware of.

I was in awe of her perception of me. She was slowly coming out of her defeatist state, and she was starting to believe that she could depend on me again. That is the “art”………..oh Voltaire how right you are. Amuse the patient and nature cures the disease. Transformed, my patient begins to see the words I share, the plan of her care now becoming a reality in her brain, she logs on to hope, she redefines trust and she looks at me and says “ you are the man with the plan.” Her husband watches this eagerly, asks the right questions and becomes engaged. She wants to not give up, how many have walked this path. She is smiling…..oh yes this is my victory.

The question is why do they come defeated? I watch this human struggle, and I marvel at how it is overcome………….every time……even if the end result is death. It is not death that we need to conquer, but rather our feelings of defeat (perhaps that is the disease). Death is a part of life, and cancer is a part of nature. It is not a victory for cancer, but for the person who learned quickly to embrace their health, their fight, and their treatment and own it, that even death can be conquered. My friends, it is in our human connection we find the strength to fight some of the hardest unknown that I have come to respect.

-Mo

 

 

Standard

2 thoughts on “Defeated.

  1. Claire Barnhouse says:

    Mo,
    As I read this today I could only get through half of this and tears started to roll down my cheeks. As you tell us about your experience with her it reminds me of my early times with you in the beginning of my diagnosis and treatment and how it does take time to let it all sink in and then comes the trust with you and your staff. I still get nervous and scared all the time but when I think of the cancer center and how it is saving my life it is all about trust and the honesty that comes from your visits.. I know John respects you highly and all my friends and family do as well.. what a wonderful person you are Mo.. To my amazing doctor of science I thank you for being you…
    Claire Barnhouse (your #1 fan)

Leave a Reply

